This is Hong Kong

Ladies Market

CIMG7444

CIMG7449

CIMG7450

CIMG7452

DSCN2567

DSCN2568

DSCN2577Hong Kong…
ChungKing Mansions
8th Dec 2012
Tepm 21C

I wasn’t even sure where it was when I booked my flight home for Christmas, via four days in Hong Kong.
But here I am in the city that calls itself “Asia’s World City” and here are my observations so far…

It’s not cold. I expected the Northern Hemisphere to shock me with its temperature difference… I guess England will do that for me next week.

The level and use of English here is remarkable.

You can buy genuine fakes of anything here.

People here burp. They don;t cover their mouths, apologise or get embarassed. Two people have burped next to me on the train.

There are a lot of people wandering around wearing surgical masks. No there is not an unusual number of surgeons or dentists and hopefully not a new epidemic of some killer flu either…

It’s normal to hoik up and spit.

People here like to smell things. That is that carry little tubes of something, that look like a lipbalm, or a small perfume and regularly put it in once nostril, close the other and sniff, Regularly, and lots of them.

Lots of people who appear to be Indian or nearby, dressed in suits, keep asking me “nice lady” if I would like a “good copy watch-handbag or handbag-watch miss”

LOADS of people smoke. But there are many outdoor public spaces where it’s prohibited and the fines are LARGE.

It’s wonderfully cheap to travel around. Melbourne and London, you suck!

The markets are a world in themselves. Everything has a “special price”, just for you!

Food is interesting, sometimes alarming. Today I found “Vegetarian Chicken”. Yester Fried Chicken’s feet.

So many things to talk about, but here are a few pics to paint the picture!

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

