Evans Head

Evans Head

Tues 31st July

Weather: Sunny

22C

 

 

Byron Bay is probably the most well-known spot on the northern New South Wales coast, but preserving my happy memories of the surfed-up-hippy town I didn’t go anywhere near  it on this occasion. There are many places that the Lonely planet doesn’t mention, at least in its overall Australia guide, so I spent 5 days off the beaten track being chauffeured around by a local guide keen to show me her version of NSW.

First stop was Evans Head, to a beach really only enjoyable at low tide. So perfectly timed, our walked took us along the stretch of beach, out over rock pools and out to Goanna point ( Sorry if I’ve made an error with the name).

From the lookout over the bay, we spotted a pod of dolphins who were making their way out to Goanna point too. We had the privilege of seeing these graceful creatures not once but three times. This is something that as a tourist I would usually pay for, and never be guaranteed to I was bowled over and very high pitched to see them so many times; I do tend to get very high pitched on the sighting of some animals.

Over the rock pools, which were banked with Pandana palms, we dipped in and out of pools you’d expect at an aquarium, finding blue and red starfish, crabs and fish. Further round the headland a scramble up the rocks provided the perfect look out for yet more dolphins as they slid in and out of the waves amongst the surfers and paddle boarders.

Perhaps it’s because I am Cancerian that I feel such an affinity with the sea. There is nothing that grounds me, yet enlivens me more than walking along the beach, no matter the weather, the place or the company. Hopping through rock pools, climbing rocks, walking barefoot, swimming in the surf, or just sitting are all activities I could honestly do timelessly.

Sitting on the jetty watching the dolphins with their elegance and grace effortlessly slicing through the surface of the water, I realised I could have sat there until daylight ended and not a moment would have been wasted.

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on August 9, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

