Brisbane continued

28-29 July

On this visit I met a family member I didn’t know I had and enjoyed an afternoon and evening chilling out at her West End gaff enjoying the simple pleasures of good wine and good company which is something one seldom gets the opportunity to do in the bush!

The following day I enjoyed the Aussie life I have been waiting to have. I got picked up by a friend, and we jumped in the car, surfboard in the back and headed down to the waves on the Gold Coast. This is what I want: freedom to just jump in a car and ride off to wherever I like.

I didn’t surf, I watched. Despite having lived in Australia now for almost 10 months, I have not yet been in sea with good surf (Port Phillip Bay doesn’t have waves!), let alone got onto a surfboard. So I stayed watching fish jump out of the water, surfers catching waves and sun sparkling on the turquoise ocean. It was a wonderful moment to be in Australia.

Note to the world and to myself, I cannot, I repeat absolutely cannot, leave Australia until I have lived on the beach and at least had a surfing lesson. If I went home lean, fit and good at surfing, that would be awesome, but one day at a time….

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, have just discovered your blog and wish I had sooner! I live about 10mins from Southbank in Brissie and would have asked you to meet for a coffee and chat (don’t worry, I’m not a weirdo,lol, just a Brissie local who adores travel and meeting new people!)
    So happy that you are enjoying your time here! Where are you now?? Hugs,Jen

    • I am touched with your comment, truly!
      I am now back out in the bush in Central QLD and hope to continue writing as regularly as I can.
      Thanks again, enjoy the blog!

Leave a Reply

