bush diaries – killers and carcasses

Bush Diaries: killers and carcasses

Friday 1st June

Weather: drizzle

temp. 18

Today we killed a cow. I didn’t kill it, of course, but now I am considered part of farm life I am told what is going on and invited to be part of it should I desire.

A cow was going to be shot in the paddock today and skinned and cut up for family consumption. Did I want to watch? No thank you. The little girl (E) did, as this is something that happens about once every 4 months or so, so she had the afternoon off classes to watch the event. Lovely.

I went into the house at about 4pm and found a trail of blood going from the front door through to the kitchen. I looked at the floor, looked at the dad (D), then looked at the trail again.                                                                 

“Trouble is,” he says: “ this house isn’t designed very well, so the beast has to be carried through it all to get in there”. By beast, he means the cow that was killed today. “No one has been injured, don’t worry” he adds, realising why I was puzzled about the trail of blood. “Spose I’d better mop that up,” he adds as an afterthought.

We go for a quick walk before dinner, just up the track to give the 9 DOGS a run! During our little jaunt I learn and am tested on all the dogs names. In case you are interested: Milo, Missy, Maggie, Middy, Henin, Shake, Kelly, Kaneesha and Yana. Milo is bounding along with a large item that looks like a piece of severed rope in his mouth. What is it? The cow’s throat. Enough said!

Later, in the kitchen again for dinner, I spy a few pieces of meat that the mop missed, still sitting on the kitchen floor. “Take a look in the cold room Grace” says the mum (K) “Nah, don’t out her off her dinner” says dad (D). Well, I don’t want to see it, but should have a look in case I forget and go to put something away in there after dinner.

I open the cold room door and am greeted with a scene that would fit well in a horror movie. In my face are four piece of carcass hanging from meat hooks. The floor is covered in newspaper decorated with pools of blood. And then I am told it has to hang there until Monday when it’ll get butchered. Won’t be helping myself to anything cold til Monday then.

 

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on June 3, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

