aussie rules

Just a load of men running around in hotpants trying to catch soap…

I sat in the members’ area to watch Essendon against Collingwood. There were rules regarding clothing which alarmed me somewhat. We were instructed not to wear thongs ( which being British would alarm me even more, as how would they know what underwear I had chosen??), ripped jeans, sports wear, ripped clothes etc.

I had read enough to understand the points and some basic rules regarding picking the ball up ( why is it called football?), throwing it, kicking it and scoring.

I enjoyed it, could even get into it: wouldn’t say I loved it, as that would be unfaithful to the real game wouldn’t it?

Here’s a list of things I learnt or found strange.

  • It’s perfectly ok to get totally smashed at the bar once the game has started ( i didn’t do this by the way)
  • you don’t cheer if the team only scored one point ( as opposed to 6) ( yes, I DID do that, but only once….)
  • people run onto the pitch during play to give the players messages from the coach
  • there are 18 men on each team. each wearing very short shorts.
  • you don’t get excited until the game is over

There are some other points to make. Essendon won. And I found that very pleasing as that is who I was barracking ( new Australian word for me).

 

I think that’s all. It was at the Melbourne Cricket ground. Oh, and in fear or being embarrassingly late, I got there 40 minutes early. Now THAT’s not normal for me at all..

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

