Sydney sights

Sydney

Easter Weekend in Sydney…

I took myself to the “other capital” for Easter weekend. There is a certain rivalry between these two cities, and a feeling of competition as to which is cooler. I think that neither is comparable, as they are so different in lifestyle and location. Sydney – usually bathed in sunshine boasts sea, surf and one of the most iconic buildings in the world. Melbourne is less focussed on beach life and offers more culture in its detailed diversity or so goes my opinion.

This was my third time in this city, and as the last two times were 8 years ago with a different frame of mind and with another person, I was able to enjoy the city by myself and for myself entirely, which I thoroughly did.

I enjoyed the freedom of going where I wanted, when I wanted, changing my plans if I wanted, spending longer somewhere if I wanted or just sitting down and doing nothing if I wanted. It really was just what I wanted and needed.

My first evening was spent at Hard Rock Café, having dinner surrounded by some of my rock heroes and gorging on my favourite Hickory BBQ bacon cheeseburger. Doing this alone was a first, but the HRC is a place I enjoy visiting and eating in and decided I felt comfortable enough to do it alone. I was indeed the only person eating alone, but it honestly didn’t bother me in the slightest!

The next day I visited the Chinese Garden of Friendship as I hadn’t had a chance to do that last time and took a trip down memory lane by visiting Paddy’s market and China Town. I wound up in the Art Gallery of New South Wales somewhat by accident later on and enjoyed a happy hour or so pottering about enjoying European, Australian and Aboriginal art.

The botanical gardens I had done before, but were worth a second visit and some time taking in the sights of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House were necessary items on my unwritten Sydney to-do list.

The next day I made it to Manly, which I hadn’t done last time and enjoyed an afternoon with a relaxing beer, some beach time, a good walk along the Manly coastal path and a good dose of me-time. On the ferry trip back to the city I was entertained with the most spectacular storm across the bay. Fork lightning coming from left and right and reaching horizontally over the horizon. I stayed on deck as long as I could bear to watch something that used to terrify me and then knowing I didn’t exactly have a warm cosy hotel room to go back to once I had got cold and wet, I ducked back inside to enjoy it from behind my book.

I meant this entry to be a photo blog rather than descriptive, so here are my best views of Sydney.

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was indeed the only person eating alone,some beach time, a good walk along the Manly coastal path and a good dose of me-time.this one.

Leave a Reply

