March moments #4

Bus driving, horse riding and Mornington Peninsula.

As driving is one of my favourite things, I jumped at the chance to drive the school bus/minivan to Mornington Peninsula for a school organised excursion. The crew consisted of three teachers and 6 Colombian students.

The hardest thing for me to deal with was not being able to change gear when I wanted to which made driving out of Melbourne particularly stressful in this matter, as at  traffic lights and junctions I wasn’t able to tell the bus to do what I wanted it to do.

That said, it was an easy drive down to Mornington, with no hiccups other than an unfortunate hangover (not my own) causing one of my passengers to need me to stop every so often for a quick vomit. Fun.

I dropped some off at the beach, and four of us continued to our horse-riding location, where we mounted our horses and enjoyed a leisurely trek through the countryside. I say leisurely and I mean incredibly slow: unfortunately we were booked into a beginner’s hack, which meant I honestly could’ve walked faster than my horse Woody was allowed to go and at times I had visions of kicking his flanks and taking him for a quick canter over the hills. The girl behind me asked if my horse was called Woody because of Toy Story, but no, as I had suspected, he was so called because of something else… 😉

After our little horsey jaunt I drove around looking for nice beaches and picturesque photo opportunities and due to my lack of local knowledge, this involved a few U turns and parking tricks, but fun was had by all. We found an incredibly windy location, which made for a hilarious hair-flying-in-the-wind photo shoot, complete with numerous Marilyn Monroe moments of mine where-by everyone got well acquainted with my underwear.

The bus was delivered back to Melbourne without a hitch only 3 hours later than scheduled. No, this was not due to my incompetent time keeping, but a group decision to enjoy the day and stretch it out as much as possible. This is a common trait of mine, because yes, I do and have enjoyed living in Melbourne, but give me a chance to leave the city for the day and I will make it last as long as possible.

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

