March moments #2

March really was a month of doing fun things: every weekend I went somewhere or did something worth blogging about, so in spite of the 2 month delay, those moments need to be written about.

On the morning of Saturday 17th March I was woken by an incredibly annoying, repetitive sound which took me some time to figure out that it was indeed the cars warming up at Albert Park. I had heard it the day before too, but it wasn’t until the Saturday that I got excited about it. I had bought some fairly last minute tickets to go to the qualifying, which was cheaper than then actual race, and since I understood relatively little about the whole event, I wasn’t bothered which day I went, just interested in being part of an event that I would never have had the opportunity to do at home.

It was a hot, late summer afternoon and as we arrived there were cars doing laps at breakneck speed and at an incredible volume. I had forgotten that I love things that go fast and found it exhilarating watching the V8 super cars roar past, remembering that I used to play car racing games for hours on the Super Nintendo and always on the arcade games in the bowling complex at home.

When the Formula One cars started doing their qualifying laps, I have to admit that my own ignorance pissed me off! I wish I had taken the time to read up a little so I could fully understand what was going on, or that I had t

aken a greater interest on those Sundays in Bratislava, when my flatmate was desperately trying to find an internet signal to get the latest race updates.

You often have to experience something to appreciate it, or to find out that it’s something you enjoy and this day I discovered that I could indeed enjoy and get into this sport. There are now two sports my future husband could feasibly follow: Football and Formula 1. Although I should be careful what I ask the universe for…

 

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on May 13, 2012, in Australian Adventure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

