marvelous Melbourne moments

Marvelous Melbourne Moments

Melbourne gave me a good day yesterday dotted with a few of those “marvelous Melbourne” moments I have been waiting for.

After an afternoon tripping about trendy Fitzroy and its quirky vintage and designer clothes stores (and yes, purchasing a well-deserved treat was one the days highlights)flanked either side by great food in the form of Mexican lunch at Trippy Tacos and finished with deluxe 62% cocoa hot chocolate at Monsieur Le Truffe’s. I ended up at The Sunset Series in Fitzroy gardens. This is a series of free concerts and workshops taking place in the afternoons free of charge (of course!), which don’t happen to actually be in Fitzroy, but plonked on the edge of the CBD. I was supposed to meet a group of people there, but once I arrived my mobile decided it didn’t want to play ball and lost its signal, so rather than wander round the crowds of picnickers looking for faces I wouldn’t have recognised anyway, I found a sunny patch of grass and planted myself down for the evening.

The concert itself consisted of two bands. The first – a folk ensemble who threw out fun danceable tango numbers and instrumental pieces, but the highlight was Mama Kin, a band from Perth. Just a three piece: a brother, sister and friend whose lead singer had such powerful vocals and clever lyrics her songs touched a few soft spots I wasn’t expecting. I sat crossed legged on the grass with my bottle of coke and potato wedges (so rock and roll) and danced on my bottom, tapping my feet and nodding in agreement to the sultry sounds and relishing in the fact that I was possibly the only solo audience member.

After the concert, I wandered towards the train station, through Treasury gardens, enjoying the balmy summer evening as my phone returned to civilisation and the messages came through from the people I’d invited with their various excuses for non-attendance. Perhaps the Universe wanted me to experience that concert alone> It felt a little bit weird, but liberating also, that I was able to enjoy something like that without the need to be surrounded by others.

As I meandered through the park contemplating this thought I looked up to see enormous bats swooping and looping overhead. I love bats, and something I enjoy about the summer is watching them dance with such grace in their blindness through the sky. These bats of course were about 4 times the size of our European version and just another little reminder to me to be grateful for the moments that make Melbourne Marvelous.

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on January 21, 2012, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

