merry christmas after all

Christmas and New Year

What do you do when it’s that time of year and you are a 23 hour flight from home, 12 hours in time ahead of your family and have been pretending that Christmas wasn’t quite literally round the corner?

I had skilfully managed to steer myself away from the mania of Christmas simply because I wasn’t surrounded by anyone who seemed to give a sh*t, which suited me fine. I told a student I wasn’t bothered about Christmas (figuring the more I said I wasn’t bothered, the less bothered I would be about it) and the response was “oh, you are one of those people” and so Scrooge was the name I was affectionately given in the run up to Christmas. At my school’s Christmas party, when I had to sing “Feliz Navidad” in English, Portuguese, Thai, Korean, Italian and Spanish with my students, I realised that unless I was going to hibernate for the holidays, Christmas was unavoidable.

So my students became my friends, who became my family and in a matter of hours the dreaded “C” Word took the transition into being two weeks of love, laughter and dancing, where the food was rich, the drink was flowing, the company was first class and the weather didn’t matter. I spent time with new friends, old friends, and temporary family members. I ate food from different continents, burned the candle at both ends, drank too much, spent too much, enjoyed the sun, laughed at the rain, walked on the beach, swam in the sea, tried new restaurants, new bars, lost a day thanks to a bottle of vodka, broke a few rules and generally did what everyone should do at Christmas: had a bloody good time!

Thanks to some very special people and Melbourne giving me something to smile about, it wasn’t as horrific as I had feared. Happy New Year all!

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

