grohl love

For those of you who follow facebook, you’ll know that I let everyone know that I was going to see the Foo Fighters. If that doesn’t interest you, then skip this entry!

Anyone who loves a band and has loved them since they first heard the tunes coming from their big brother’s bedroom when they were 12 would have been over the moon to discover that a previously sold out gig had re-released loads of tickets. The tickets went on sale back in August, when I was still pondering with the idea of even coming to Australia and were sold out within a day. To my fortune (there is a music god) loads of tickets were retracted (having been bought by touts) and resold, which meant that buying mine a week before, I got brilliant seats! We were close enough to see people on stage, which in a stadium is a big deal!

You will also know, if you read my last entry, that going to this gig cost me my weekend job at the pub, but it took me a matter of seconds to decide that this outweighed that ten-fold. My reasoning was, as my flatmate put it so well: I didn’t come all the way to Australia to be a slave to a casual job. Also I came here to live and learn and bloody well have a good time, and what are the chances of me being in the same city at the Foo Fighters?!

The last time I saw the Foo Fighters was for their One By One tour back in 2002 in London’s Wembley Arena. AAMI Park in Melbourne probably holds the same capacity, although this is open, and yes it did rain, but that didn’t stop them!

Jack Black and his band Tenacious D were the line-up and suitably entertaining. There were lots of “fucks, mother fuckers and cocks” and what you could hear of the lyrics were hilarious. Jack Black has great stage presence and referred to themselves as the Lightning before the Foo Fighters’ Thunder. Well said. “yeah we know you all really came to see them, not us, I mean I would’ve…”

Dave and the band came onstage and opened with Bridge Burning, the opener for their new album. The blasted a few out before stopping to introduce themselves, shout at Melbourne and then he and Chris Shifflet had a “guitar off”. Best way I can describe it. There was a runway that went through the audience out to a mini stage in the middle of the arena, which Dave ran up and down during songs. From Dave’s mini stage he and Shifflet had a “guitar off”. Dave played a riff, Chris played a longer one, Dave beat him, Chris beat him and so on. Dave obviously came off as the winner, but both showed off amazing improvised guitar skills.

The set was about 3 hours, cos in Dave’s own words “We’ve just got so many fucking songs to play”. They went off stage, coming back to do an 8 song encore, 4 of those Dave did solo from his mini stage, so the back of the arena had front row seats.

They played out the gig with Everlong, which undoubtedly is and always will be my favourite track, and one the of the best ways to play out a gig.

It took me a few days to come down off my Foo Fighter’s high and more than anything, here’s the cheesy bit: it woke up something inside me: a love and passion for music that got a bit buried along the way in Spain having not had the opportunity to see fucking rock music live for years!

Rock On!

Not the best pics: You can see Jack Black in the first few, but once the foos came on due to high levels of excitement, my photography skills are nothing to write to Rolling Stone about…

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Opps, put pictures in the wrong order: Foos are first, Jack black is the last 3…

  2. here’s the true: Nirvana >>> Tenacious D >>>>> Foo Fighters

Leave a Reply

