all the fun of the circus

All the fun (and money) of the circus!

I’m definitely getting my money’s worth with experience in Melbourne work-wise. As I said before, although I’d just love a simple 9-5 that doesn’t use my brain, I am actually getting a lot out of working for (to date) 5 different places.

So last weekend, thanks to a student hooking me up with a contact for a catering company she works for, I waitressed at a Circus! I actually thought I had heard the guy wrongly on the phone, when he gave me clothing instructions and directions to Silver Circus, Stop 17 on tram 70. I just figured it was the name of a business park or restaurant. When I got off the tram, right in front of me where the yellow and white tents of a circus!

The event was for a Christmas party for a company with 450 guests, sitting a 3 course meal, complete with a free bar, canapés, petit fours and of course, a circus performance between speeches and courses.

I think have enough experience both here and most certainly un the UK of catering companies, function work and the hospitality industry to say that this was one of the most positive work experiences in this field I have ever had. Yes, the chef got a little hot under his hat, in his tent with the rain and the thunder storm teeming down and coming through the gaps of the tent, but it was hiccup free. Meals were served seamlessly, guests were happy, but more importantly, staff were too! (That’s rare, at least what I have experienced so far here!) The staff, mostly South American and European (I was the only Brit and I counted one Aussie) got on with each other, were friendly and enjoyed what they were doing.

Between meals, the only thing we could do was stand near our allocated tables, ready to serve a drink and watch the show. I got the privilege of being on duty during the trapeze artist’s act as well as a girl doing hula hoops with about 25 rings, whilst walking on a mirrored ball around the stage.

The final act actually made me feel uncomfortable. There was a round metal cage about 5 metres in diameter. Inside went a motor bike, who wooed the crowds whizzing round and round and round at high speed inside. Then in went another bike, they both went round and round in opposite direction, holding hands at one point. In went a girl, who stood in the middle of the cage, as the motorbikes whizzed past her, skimming her hair. Finally she got out and a third bike went in, and round and round they went, just a hair’s breadth away from each other. It was hard to look at times!

Our evening concluded, once the guests were scraped off their tables or dragged off the dance floor at midnight with an almighty thunderstorm. Thunder, lightning and rain had been prevalent all night, but just as the guests had exited the heavens opened. All the restraints that had held back the rain all night gave up and we sludged our way through the last stage of the clear up. A tent, surrounded by metal poles and puddles of water was the last place I wanted to be at that moment, but final debrief had to be done. Awarded with a bottle of leftover wine, I went on my way, having had possibly the most positive work experience so far in Australia!

 

 

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. well… that sounds more like it… wish I’d been there too !
    Well done you x

  2. So glad things are looking up Grace and you are collecting more traveller’s tales, especially positive ones! Hope you have a happy Christmas whatever you are doing. Love, Eleanor x

Leave a Reply

