botanical beautiful

A relaxing afternoon wandering around the Botanical Gardens at my leisure was the order of

the day last week as I needed a much deserved bit of “me time” and what better place to do it than there?

I started at the Shrine of Remembrance, a huge monument erected to honour those who fought in the war. It’s a fairly distinctive monument, doesn’t blow you away with architectural splendor, but makes a point and deserves a visit. It also as great views of the Central Business District (CBD).

From there I ambled into the gardens, pausing at the map, wondering if I should try and seek one out. Some of you will know I do not like entering such places without a map, for fear of missing something. I managed to calm the control freak inside by promising myself I could revisit on a number of occasions and just enjoy not knowing where I was going for once. So that I did. I walked for a bit, sat for a bit, walked again for a bit sat for a bit and repeated the process until i deemed myself relaxed enough to leave the tranquility of the gardens and head home.

That seems all a bit safe and easy doesn’t it? Not really a Grace-like episode is it?

Well, I did follow some signposts to the Tea Terrace, as that seemed a good place to head towards. I knew that I only had $4.83 in my bank account (sad I know) and was going to be paid the next day, so decided to spend my precious last few dollars on a cup of tea ( yes bloody expensive). But what could be nicer, i thought to myself. than sitting in the Botanical Gardens with my book, enjoying a well deserved cuppa?

I went into the cafe eagerly scanning the menu for the best way to spend my meagre $4.83. Unfortunately it didn’t stretch to a cuppa and a cake (cruelly displayed in front of me) but for $3.90 I could have Chai Latte. That’s more exciting than a cup of tea, and totally worth my pennies! I ordered it, handed over my card to the girl, who points at the sign saying “Minimum card payment of $15” Ouch! Crestfallen, I took my card back and said “ok then, no thanks”. A nice bit of acting ensured she knew how much I wanted that latte, so she looked around and agreed to take my card. There is a latte god! I thanked her, not profusely, I wasn’t that desperate and walked away from the counter. On my way to the door I stopped to look at a wedding photo ( I totally deserved what was coming now I think of it) and briefly daydreamed about getting married here when I saw a mosquito land on my arm. Latte in one and, bag in the other and not close enough to a table I panicked: hit the mosquito and drop the latte, or keep the latte and let it bite me? It bit me.

So that’s how I got my first mosquito bite in Australia. Dreaming about a wedding in the Botanical Gardens, not wanting to drop my much needed latte bought with my last few cents.

The gardens were pretty though, here are the pics…

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

