melaka-melacca

13th October 2011

Melaka

Melaka is a historical port city, 2 hours South-East of Kuala Lumpur and situated on the Strait of Melaka, could be described as the soul of Malaysia. To me, being totally new and open-mouthed at everything I saw, it provided the perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of the capital and just oozed character, heritage, tradition and the odd rat…

I didn’t waste too much time settling in to my hotel, heading almost immediately out desperate to absorb as much as I could of what the LP claims to be a tourist attraction par excellence!

I set off on a walking tour guided by my LP around the town, taking in enormous cultural variety that had me astounded. There is Portugues, Bristish and Dutch heritage here. There is a Christian church, Chinese temples, mosques and palaces and a Portuguese fortress. There’s a china town, little India and a Portuguese square which is a lot to squeeze into quite a small town.

My walk led me through most of these areas. I stop to marvel the temples, photograph a Monitor lizard, enjoy a spicy Laksa for lunch, buy fruit from street stands, weave through some tourist shops, have a hour of reflexology and when my feet couldn’t handle another step, I jumped on a boat for a river cruise where we were joined by a Monitor Lizard who swam alongside us for some of the journey.

I tried to eat, drink and photograph as much as I could and feel disappointed that it has taken me almost 3 weeks to post this, but I hope you enjoy my images of this beautiful, humble little town. It’s far prettier than it’s bigger sister KL, but stands back and doesn’t say a word…

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

