2 weeks in Melbourne

2 weeks in Melbourne

When you make a point of not having a plan, you don’t really have grounds to complain when things don’t go to plan do you?

It’s a cold, rainy Melbourne evening and I am sitting in the dining room of my new flat. This time last week, things were much sunnier, not only in terms of the weather…

I allowed myself a couple of days to acclimatise and get over my travel haze before hitting Melbourne hard on my first Monday morning. By lunch time, I had opened my bank account, applied for my tax file number and medical card, been to the Vodafone shop 3 times eventually replacing the phone I had bought the previous day, joined the library and even applied for a few jobs.

The itchy ear I had got off the plane with had raged itself into an ear infection by Tuesday leaving me $100 dollars poorer on Wednesday just in time for a very informal “job interview” offering a teaching job with wages I could only have dreamed of earning in Europe.

The throbbing, energy sapping earache I was carrying round required an immense amount of effort to traverse the city in search of a room with a bed (surprisingly hard to find, since they are mostly all unfurnished here) so by Friday, having only visited four, desperate to unpack my suitcase and not sleep on the living room floor anymore I settled for the first place I had seen.

So here I was, last Sunday, in my bare room, unpacking my suitcase into the built in wardrobe. The only piece of furniture was a borrowed futon mattress and an upturned laundry basket as a resting place for my laptop.

The following Monday I trammed it into the centre, heading for the State library, knowing I had about an hour or so to use the internet before heading into the school to sign paper work and start lesson planning. The first email I read erased all the good work and happy feelings I had until then. My offer of employment had been withdrawn, by email, with less than 24 hours’ notice. Not what I was expecting. Not what I wanted. Ok, Australia, you don’t want to give it to me that easy do you?

The rest of my week was spent rewriting my cv at least 5 times, hitting the streets and handing it in with an exhausted to smile to any shop, bar or school I could find, hours clicking “apply” to any job that I could find, wasting time going to information sessions, unpaid observations and trials to eventually pick up a job on Friday afternoon, to start the following Monday…. As a waitress! Exactly where I started 10 years ago!

I had hoped this would be a year of new experiences, and indeed I am sure there will be, but perhaps not in the work place…

Until next time

x

 

 

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Grace, tu puedes. You ‘ll get what you deserves! Lots of kisses.

Leave a Reply

