Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur

A city of contrast. It’s one of those places that is a little bit odd, pretty amazing and doesn’t quite make sense all at the same time.

Yes, there are some buildings that are examples of breakthrough architectural design, some that are almost magical in their appearance and some that you would never want to enter.

There are streets stacked with shopping malls; one even has a rollercoaster in it. There are streets lined with hawker stalls, serving amazing food at phenomenal value if you don’t look too closely and occasionally you’ll get a waft of some rubbish rotting away in 30C on someone’s doorstep.

I learnt the hard way that maps don’t always tell the truth: Google maps, Lonely planet and the local maps I picked up all feature different roads and name then differently. I also learnt the hard way that something might be “walking distance” but that could mean you have to cross a 6 lane highway with no pedestrian crossing to get there. Pavements are great when they exist: they often come abruptly to an end or have parts missing or giant holes, housing families of rats. Pedestrian crossings are for games of roulette: pressing the button and waiting for the green man to appear means you could stand there for hour on end, if it does appear, drivers don’t pay much attention.

Highlights for me?

  • Eating for about £1
  • Wandering through the markets of China Town and Little India
  • Taking the monorail to get somewhere and enjoying views of the city for about 40p
  • Having the dead skin nibbled off my feet but a school of very hungry fish for £1
  • Enjoying a manicure and pedicure at the price I’d have to pay for about 3 fingernails at home
  • Wandering around the world’s largest free flight aviary ( future blog to come)

Here are some of the best moments I captured:

apologies: technical issue I have uploaded them all more than once! soooooooooooorrrry!

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Australian Adventure. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Now I understand that picture with fishes. Was it an strange sensation having all this little animals swiming around your feet?

Leave a Reply

