Driny Caves

29/05

Weather: torrential rain

Temperature: 19C

Wet caves

I felt empowered and very British as I woke up this morning, looked out at the pouring rain and put on my walking boots. Rain? A problem? It shouldn’t be, I’m British!

There were some caves a student has recommended I visit some time ago, which I had previously planned and failed to accomplish due to lack of participants. This morning however, the fact that I got two “Sorry, not in this weather” text messages, only made me all the more determined to do it myself!

Luckily I enlisted another Brit, who unaffected by the weather embraced the elements whole heartedly as we made our way towards the caves.

Off the bus, we spent a few minutes wondering which direction to orientate ourselves in and briefly pondered the notion of taking shelter, but quickly realised the rain was not promising to lessen, so onwards was indeed the only option. The name of the caves and a very vague map ( now soggy) from google maps was all we had, as well as heaps of enthusiasm and motivation to prove to everyone that you can go out in the rain.

The hour walk through the pretty village took closer to 90 minutes, as we were mostly going uphill and against the rain oh and of course dodging 2 metre sprays from unsympathetic drivers who obviously thought that since we had decided to walk in the rain we deserved to get splashed by cars too…

At the summit we found to out delight a pub and a campsite and then a dismal sign telling us it was almost another km to the cave entrance. Onwards we trudge through woodlands which would surely look beautiful in sunlight. I stopped to ask a few sodden walkers if we were going the right way. Naturally my Slovak is so convincing they responded in English…

On finally reaching the cave entrance I was dismayed to see that the girl at the till looked positively pissed off when we volunteered out 5euros entrance fee. For a good five minutes it looked like we were the only customers until a few wet families arrived.

Into the cave we went. It was 7C inside and we were drenched. We shivered our way round a 60 minute tour of the most mind-numbing information I could imagine. I may have said this before, but I just don’t understand WHERE they find people like this! This was not the first time I have paid to be walked around something by someone who talks in such a monotone that clearly announces how much they love their job…

The caves were a maze of pathways, lit in various places to show various physical features, which were pointed out to us with torchlight and a drone from the guide. At one point she turned off the light, perhaps incase we didn’t believe it was really dark inside. I found myself wanting to venture down all the paths that were closed off and wanting to go off on my own. That’s not the done thing though, so I shuffled around with everyone else and pretended to be interested in what she was saying.

No photos were taken, as entrance of a camera was more than human entrance, which I simply refused to pay. You can check out the website pics here: http://www.ssj.sk/jaskyne/spristupnene/driny/

On our decent we stopped at a pub to dry out. The roaring fire almost made us take of our sodden shoes and hang them up ( I’m sure that would be alright at home) and the waitress on understanding we were English ( buggered up our order) used her best English to tell us we could have soup with Chicken or pork flesh. Yum.

On the bus home, as you might have guessed, the sun came out and  delivered a beautiful Spring afternoon…

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on June 26, 2011, in Slovakia Stories.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

