Bratislava to Prague

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Only 3 pictures, hard to do on a moving train, and I put them all twice, sorry!)

Friday 3rd July

Temperature 28C

Somewhere between Bratislava and Prague

Bratislava to Prague…

After a not so long week, but a hot, muggy Friday, where storm was spelled across the heavy sky, I made my way to the train station, armed with my suitcase, trusted Lonely Planet and this time my laptop, for a spot of writing on the train.

As I write now, I am travelling at a gentle speed through the Czech Republic passing through lush green valleys, which are dotted with wooden chalets suggesting a moderate country life.

Brno itself looked not so different from many towns in Slovakia. It is set on the side of a hill, so must have its token cobbled streets I imagine and I could see the spires of a church overlooking the city.

It’s no longer sunny, but just as muggy and as we pass a deep green lake bordered on one side with the train line and the other with a steep cliff wall, I see people standing swimming or standing around in swimming trunks.

I enjoy passing through such green pastures and thank myself, or indeed circumstance fot not having the opportunity to make this journey sooner, as I know I would not have benefitted from such enchanting landscapes.

The view has changed considerably now, as flat fields are rolling to the horizon, dotted with farmhouses and tractors at work. I’ve even seen cows for the first time in ages and if Inore the languages around me I could be in England look at the cow parslip, elderflower, pine trees and the poplars lining my journey.

And then you pass through a village of one storey houses with triangular roofs and you remember you are not in England.

The weather has changed and the sun has painted the landscape in bright hues and brilliant tones. The grass looks almost luminous and the villages appear to have newly painted houses. The water on the lakes and rivers glints as we glide past and the Czech Republic looks like a wonderfully romantic landscape begging to be explored.

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on June 26, 2011, in Slovakia Stories.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

