in bloom

Last time I suggested that spring had sprung it proved me wrong by snowing the next day! I think now, however, I can safely say that the winter has finally given up and rolled away to taunt a different continent leaving spring to bloom into action. And Bloom it has! The temperature is comfortably sitting above 10 degrees and on a yesterday rose to a sweltering 28. Everything has burst into colour literally overnight and the now the bare trees are draped in blossom or promising to be soon, daffodils are happily decorating residential areas and offices and what

were previously bare patches of land are now vivid greens decorated with dandelions, daisies and buttercups. I hadn’t realised how much I had missed this season until I experienced a long winter and the slow transition from monochrome to colour. In Barcelona, some of you will know that spring doesn’t really happen, summer just appears overnight and like a slap round the face you wake up sweating one day.

The air seems to be fresh here though and everyone seems to have put away their fur coats in favour of painfully short skirts, hot pants and very bright colours. I am really enjoying the smell of blossom on my way to class, the open windows and the bright spring flowers sitting on my students’ desks.

What I would love right now is a moment to sit down and catch up on my now not so regular blog! I would love to chance to write about a month old trip to red rock castle, mum and dad’s visit to Bratislava, a day trip to Vienna, a weekend in Budapest, some funny anecdotes from my kindergarten class and yet more observations I make on a daily basis about how Slovakia is Slovakia and entertains me so. Alas, my timetable, limited internet access and desperate need for a holiday are preventing me from such writing, but I endeavour to do some back-dated blogging soon!

Ciao for now!

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Slovakia Stories.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

