Grace is going to write a blog!

I went to Barcelona for a one month teaching course: intending to travel the world as an English teacher and “accidently stayed there for 5 years. Oops. Not all bad though: I fell in love with the city, the people and the lifestyle. Oh and the job wasn’t bad either. I learnt the language and just when I was starting to feel “comfortable” I remembered my original reason for becoming a teacher: travel. How had I managed to stay there for 5 years? Ask anyone who has been there that long. It happens.

So, in a bid to go somewhere TOTALLY different and start living that “dream”, I chose Slovakia, or it kind of chose me.

Where do you start when you have lived somewhere for 5 years?! How do you decide where to go next? Do you choose the weather? A langauage? A continent? Or do you just log onto tefl.com and see what’s going and randomly apply to what you see? I chose the latter method. And so it transpires I will very soon be living in Bratislava, the Capital of Slovakia.

I want to write a blog becuase all I really know about this, is that this adventure will throw me out of the Mediterranean comfort zone I was living in and into the totally different world of Eastern Europe, which I know very little about. Why such a change of lifestyle? Well, Why not?!

So as this is my first post, and first ever blog, forgive me for rambling on, but I thought it best to layout my reasons for writing it before I get there and what already know about life in Slovakia….

First of all, I will admit that before I applied for the post, I had to google Bratislava to find out where it was. What I discovered was that it is the capital of Slovakia, situated on the River Danube and so named “the heart of the Danube”. It’s right on the boarder of the country and about an hour from Vienna. Once called Czechoslovakia, it split into Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993 ( Ok, I researched that), but try telling this to my Grandmother who doesn’t understand these concepts and tells all her friends I am going to a place called “check”. Their main export according to the Lonely Planet is Ice hockey pucks (spelling?) and they are renound for beautiful women! They like their beer (pivo can’t go to a new country without that word firmly in one’s memory!) and goats cheese dumplings! Right now it’s 2 degrees and snowing lightly in Bratislava, but in the summer it can get well above 30.

I have learnt how to say hello, good morning etc, please, yes, no, beer and wine. Done. Got a LP for Czech and Slovak Republics and phrase books for the surrounding countries.

I’ll be living in a very basic flat with 2 other teachers and I’ll be teaching a range of different class types from business classes to kindergarten. That’s Nursery to us Brits!

Oh! and the timetable will be the opposite to Spain with most of my days starting before normal working hours. ouch.

So there you go. That’s what I know and what I’m in for. I always have a lot to say about what I do and where I go, so if you want to come along for the ride, then subscribe to my blog and join me! Photos will be posted too.

Next time I write I hope to be in a cafe, sipping tea  in Bratislava…

Dovidenia!

About graceeliz

Many years ago I met someone who said: "Don't know what you want to do with your life? Teach English as a foreign language, then you can travel the world. Best thing I've ever done!" That got me thinking. Research was done. Course booked in Barcelona. Certificate gained. 5 years living in Barcelona working as an English teacher. Done! Where to next? Check out my blog! 5 years in Barcelona, 6 months in Slovakia, 2 years in Australia... and now I am home in Somerset. We'll see if I can stop the itch in my feet...

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Slovakia Stories.... Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey looks like theres loads of funny statues and you can roller blade!

  2. Veĺa štastia v novom zamestnaní, budeš mi chýbať

    i think (hope) this means ‘good luck, I will miss you’ but my Slovak is quite rusty so it could mean ‘my father’s donkey is lame, we will eat it for supper’. Oh well both phrases will be of equal use to you.

    Take care lover xxxxx

  3. by the sounds of things the weather is comparative to the weather here in calgary…i wonder if we are on similar latitudes? and yes, grace, you spelled pucks right! 🙂

  4. Well done chica! This is a very impressive & entertaining first edition of your blog. I look forward to reading many more and to seeing the pics!

Leave a Reply

